26
Jun
10

Oh, hello

Oh, hey, she just looked at me
Made eye contact, smiled, I think that means something. I wonder if I should
Whoa, hey, she winked, ack! Okay
Okay, I’m definitely supposed to do something now
Um
Okay
So….
Do I just go say hello?
I’m supposed to have a line, right? I can’t just say hi, hey, you winked at me, what does that mean?
Ugh. So, charming, Nick. Think charming, what’s charming?
I could go with something self-consciously over the top, like the spacepants line or something.
Or maybe just lean over, look her in the eye, and say “Insert witty line here, baby?”
Bleah, no, it’s too loud in here, nothing subtle would even go over
Oh, crap, don’t stare. Look somewhere else while you think about it.
Bartender. Hey, can I get another Gibson? I may need it.
Oh, hm. Maybe I should send her over a drink.
Oh, great, her friends are back. Now if I send a drink they’ll all look at me.
So. Back to the drawing board.
Oh, thank god, the band is playing. Something else to look at.
Let’s go dance for a while, maybe she’ll come out on the dance floor.

Um.
Whoa, lost some time there. I always do that when I’m dancing.
Er. And had my eyes closed most of the way. I don’t
Oh, there she is. Leaning against the pylon. Ack, eye contact again! Too soon!
Well, shit, now I’m sunk. I didn’t have a chance to figure out what to say, and now it’s obvious that I noticed..
Oh
Oh shit
She’s coming over here!
Shit!

5 Responses to “Oh, hello”


  1. September 15, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    That was terrifying! Thank you!

  2. September 15, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Nice. Wow. I don’t miss those feelings and thoughts. That’s why I traded for the abrasive, aloof and too direct approach. It works better and feels better.

    • September 15, 2011 at 6:39 pm

      I used to use the “wait for people to approach me” approach, which worked to a point. Now I tend to go with the “just go ahead and approach and don’t think about it so much” approach.


Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License


